SWS writer Russo wins five awards at NMPW conference

Seven professional journalists and writers, based in Las Cruces, have been recognized for their work in the 2017 New Mexico Press Women Communications Contest. These journalists, broadcasters, and writers are employed by NMPolitics.net, Las Cruces Bulletin, Las Cruces Sun-News, Southwest Senior, and KRWGFM radio, as well as freelance writers and reporters, and have competed in the competition with 43 professionals who entered 106 examples of their work.

Among the winners are Heath Haussamen, editor and publisher, who won four awards, Tracy Roy, editor — four awards, Jessica Savage, freelance writer — three awards, Leora Zeitlin, radio air personality and producer — two awards, Cassie McClure, freelance writer — two awards, and Bud Russo, freelance writer and novelist — five awards. Their work covered news stories and investigative reporting, feature articles, personality profiles, news photographs, and books, all of which had to be published during the previous calendar year.

Those who win first-place awards now advance to the national competition in the National Federation of Press Women Communications Contest, which concludes at the annual conference in September.

New Mexico Press Women is an organization for women and men who are engaged in any form of communications, including journalism, photojournalism, nonfiction and fiction books and stories, radio, television, public relations, graphic design, and Web-related work. NMPW provides networking opportunities and skill building as well as protecting First Amendment free speech in the changing face of communications.